George and Vulture

Ok, here’s a nice little story for you: When I came back to London in August – don’t look at me like that, I know it’s October now! …anyway – I felt a little unsure about my first ‘post-holiday-gig’. That’s why I came to think of it (22.8.) as my ‘rehearsal-gig’ for the next one (two days later, at that point I still thought it would be a big one – well, you never know, but more on this another time) and therefore I hadn’t really promoted it. The gig was at the George & Vulture (Hoxton), a lovely pub with amazing pizza (if you remember, I’ve played and eaten there before – that was when I dedicated this one song to Carmen, with the lyrics saying something like ‘face in the dirt’…she still thinks the song is funny… πŸ˜‰ )

On my way to the gig I remember thinking to myself it would be my first gig without friends/fans – which wasn’t actually true, there had been another one before, but still πŸ˜‰ actually, I just realised, I did about 50 gigs now and there were almost always people there supporting me – wow…thank you!!! you guys are amazing!!!

English: Sign at Shadwell overground station

When changing trains at Shadwell this guy walking next to me started talking to me: [rough outline of our conversation when walking down the stairs to Shadwell Overground Station – how ironic, walking ‘down to the Overground’…]
– ‘why are you carrying a guitar? are you a musician?‘ (er, yes)
– ‘are you gigging a lot around London?’ (yep)
– ‘where/how did you find the places to perform?‘ (err..annoying people with emails?)
– ‘are you playing tonight?‘ (yep)
– ‘can I come?
That’s how I found myself my personal train stalker…and they lived happily ever after.

No good? Ok, sorry, but that’s not the end of the evening anyway – Mr. Train Guy seemed nice enough, so obviously I didn’t object to him coming along to the gig. πŸ˜‰ When walking to the pub he took our animated conversation (“hey, did you ever notice that you can walk all the way through the train inside the train?”Β … ) to the next level by showing off his profound knowledge of the German language. Something along the lines of: “Ich mag dich, aber ich kann dich leider nicht heiraten, denn deine Mutter sieht aus wie ein fettes Pferd und ich habe Angst, dass du spΓ€ter auch so aussiehst.” charming πŸ˜‰ [goole translate *lol*]

When we arrived at the venue Mr. Train Guy realised that one of his friends was living just down the road, so he texted him to come down. (actually, Train Guy starts to sound weird, let’s call him Adam, for narration’s sake πŸ˜‰ …)
In the pub we were sharing a table with two lovely sisters (one of them living in England, the other one in Mallorca) who had just helped their son/nephew (who was at the pub as well) move house in London. When after a bit of talking and joking around it was my turn to go on stage they seemed quite pleasantly surprised πŸ˜‰ … when I came back after my 30min set Adam told me they had asked him whether he was the inspiration for my ‘beautiful lyircs’ and for how long we had been together…. and apparently he made them believe we had been a couple for two years and just got engaged. When I told them ‘we met two hours ago on the train’ – guess whom they believed? πŸ˜‰

In any case, it was a really lovely evening and I had a lot of fun! πŸ™‚ [when our table companions left, one of them whispered to Adam “make sure she gets on the right train” such sweet ladies ;-)]

by the way, I feel like I forgot everything about English grammar, ‘topsy-turvy tenses’ *lol* – if you can’t be bothered, just ignore any mistakes, but I’d be grateful for corrections πŸ˜‰

Related articles

Leave a Reply

