what I actually wanted to say…

Sometimes I wake up at night and a melody, an idea, or snippets of lyrics and songs are flashing through my mind. Assuming I’m not too tired to care, I write it down – into a little notebook that is always laying on my bedside table – or I even record it (yay, iPhone…). Then I go back to sleep. When I wake up in the morning I usually remember that I came up with something, but I would never be able to remember what it was. And I would never be aware of how I actually did it! How did I create these snatches of melodies, thoughts and words, that I’m convinced that they are mine?
In fact, most of my songs start like that – fragments of music or thought that I didn’t consciously create. My unconscious mind processes and creates things for me – without me noticing…

View original post 493 more words

Leave a Reply

